2.4 C
Munich
Monday, January 30, 2023

Croatia and Canada will be an unprecedented duel in Qatar 2022

Must read

- Advertisement -

In their first game in Qatar 2022, Croatia failed against Morocco and sealed a 0-0 score. The World runner-up had a higher record of possession of the ball with an average of 63%. However, the Arab team neutralized their attack attempts.

Ending the first half at the Al Bayt stadium, Nikola Vlasic had the clearest situation. Croatian full-back Borna Sosa launched a cross, Vlasic pulled off a powerful shot and Moroccan goalkeeper Yassine Bounou excelled with his save.

- Advertisement -

In other editions of the World Cup, the Croatian team was able to win its two games against African rivals: 4-0 vs. Cameroon in Brazil 2014 and 2-0 vs. Nigeria in Russia 2018.

For their part, Canada could not beat Belgium’s goal and ended with a 1-0 defeat at the Ahmed Bin Ali Stadium. The team led by John Herdman deserved more: they had clearer plays and recorded 23 shots, but failed to move the score in their favor. Belgian goalkeeper Thibaut Courtois not only saved a penalty taken by Alphonso Davies. He also demonstrated his quality against the onslaught of the Canadians.

- Advertisement -

The Concacaf-affiliated team sealed its ticket to Qatar before the United States and Mexico, and returned to play a World Cup after 36 years. His only World Cup experience had been in Mexico 1986 and he ended up eliminated in the first phase. In this edition, he will seek to win his first victory and score his first goal in the history of the tournament.

The duel between Croatia and Canada does not record previous precedents in the general history: they will star in an unprecedented duel in this World Cup.

Andrés Matonte is chosen to lead the party.

Hours Croatia and Canada, according to country
  • Argentina and Chile (Santiago): 1:00 p.m.
  • Colombia and Peru: 11:00 a.m.
  • Mexico (Mexico) and Nicaragua: 10:00 a.m.
  • Venezuela: 12:00 hours

© 2020 DataFactory

Source: Ambito

- Advertisement -
spot_img

More articles

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest article