The incredible play happened in a match between Flamengo and Criciúma on matchday 18 of the Brasileirão.
Needless to say, Football is played with only one ball.However, on a new date of the Brasileirão, the first division of Brazil, an unusual event occurred: In one play there were two balls on the court at the same time, which led to a penalty..
The content you want to access is exclusive for subscribers.
Embed – CONTROVERSIAL PENALTY FOR O FLAMENGO AGAINST O CRICIÚMA (07/20/2024)
It was the 40th minute of the second half, with the teams tied 1-1. Flamengo player Everton, He received the ball inside the rival area and when he was preparing to shootBarreto, Criciúma midfielder, He deflected the ball after kicking a second ball that was inside the field. As a result, the referee of the match, Maguielson Lima Barbosa, charged penalty for him Flawhich Gabriel Barbosa converted into a goal and gave the victory to the red and black team.


What does the rule say about this play?
The referee’s decision was correct. The regulations of the International Board indicates that “A direct free kick will also be awarded if a player commits any of the following: “misses”:
- Handball infringement (except by the goalkeeper inside his own penalty area)
- To hold an opponent
- Obstructing an opponent through physical contact
- Biting or spitting on someone who is on the team roster or is a member of the refereeing team
- Throwing an object at the ball, an opponent or a referee, or hitting the ball with an object.
However, if in that same action the referee realized that there were two balls in the court, he could have stopped the game and called a grounded ball.
Source: Ambito

I am Pierce Boyd, a driven and ambitious professional working in the news industry. I have been writing for 24 Hours Worlds for over five years, specializing in sports section coverage. During my tenure at the publication, I have built an impressive portfolio of articles that has earned me a reputation as an experienced journalist and content creator.