The Government announced the entry of Argentina to the BRICS

The Government announced the entry of Argentina to the BRICS

The leaders of the BRICS bloc, made up of Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa, agreed to Argentina’s entry into it, according to the presidential spokesperson. Gabriela Cerrutti, through a message on his official X account, formerly known as Twitter.

“The BRICS group of emerging economies (Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa) has agreed to the entry into the bloc of Argentina, Saudi Arabia, Egypt, Ethiopia, the United Arab Emirates and Iran. A new era begins in the leadership of the Global South,” Cerruti said.

Meanwhile, he added: “The president Alberto Fernandez participate now in the @BRICSinfo #BRICS2023 summit. At 8:00 a.m., he will address the Argentines through the parameters of @CasaRosada to share the importance of this moment.”


On Wednesday, the BRICS bloc leaders They had agreed on mechanisms for considering new members, paving the way for dozens of interested nations, including Argentina, join the group, which has vowed to defend the “Global South.”

“We have agreed on the issue of expansion,” South African Foreign Minister Naledi Pandor said on Ubuntu Radio, a station run by her ministry, after meeting during a three-day summit in South Africa.

Among the nations interested in joining the bloc was the Argentina, since it represents an opportunity to financial and economic developmentwhile also helping to give the BRICS global influence at a time when geopolitical polarization is spurring efforts by Beijing and Moscow to make it a viable counterweight to the West.

were more than 40 nations those who had applied to join the group. Some requested it directly, such as Algeria, Argentina, Bangladesh, Cuba, Egypt, Ethiopia, Iran, Saudi Arabia and Vietnam. Others simply expressed interest, such as Mexico, Pakistan and Türkiye.

Following this decision, as of January 1, 2024 six countries will become members of this group whose origin dates back to 2006, when Brazil, Russia, India and China met for the first time with a view to moving forward with this initiative, which was joined by South Africa in 2011.

Source: Ambito

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Latest Posts