Cannes Film Festival: Harrison Ford receives the honorary Palme d’Or

Cannes Film Festival: Harrison Ford receives the honorary Palme d’Or

The actor was with a large part of the main cast presenting Indiana Jones and the Dial of Fate.

the star of Indiana Jones, Harrison Fordreceived an honorary Palme d’Or for his career in the Cannes Film Festival of this year.

In a similar way to the tribute made to Tom Cruise last year, Ford was treated to a career highlight reel and received a thunderous ovation from the crowd inside the Grand Theater Lumière.

After a presentation by the Cannes director, Thierry Fremauxwhich included greetings to Bob Iger from Disney, Indy producers Kathleen Kennedy and Frank Marshall and the cast, including Mads Mikkelsen, Phoebe Waller Bridge Ford and his wife callista flockhart and to the director James Mangolda video was shown with Ford’s filmography that included: Frisco Kid, Working Girl, Blade Runner, Raiders of the Lost Ark, American Graffiti, K9: The Widowmaker, Air Force One, Mosquito Coast, The Fugitive and the scene from the Star Wars cantina, as well as the entire Indiana Jones series.

Films in which Ford has appeared and which have been shown at Cannes include The Conversation (1974), apocalypse Now (1979) and witness (1985). She was also in 2014 for a special event in support of The Expendables 3.

Taking the stage, Ford said, “I’m pleased and honoured, but I have a movie you have to see.”

Ford added of the montage: “They say that before you die, you see your life flash before your eyes, and I saw my life flash before my eyes.”

WhatsApp Image 2023-05-18 at 15.15.18.jpeg

What is Indiana Jones and the Dial of Fate about?

The film directed by James Mangold continues with Ford’s famed archaeologist in the late 1960s as he returns on an adventure to stop the revival of the Nazis. The supporting cast includes Phoebe Waller Bridge, Mads Mikkelsen and Antonio Banderas. The film is the first “Indiana Jones” film since “Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull”directed by Spielberg, which grossed $790 million worldwide in 2008.

Spielberg launched the “Indiana Jones” franchise in 1981 with “Raiders of the Lost Ark”which had a story co-created by George Lucas. The two created three sequels together: 1984’s “Temple of Doom,” 1989’s “Last Crusade,” and 2008’s “Kingdom of the Crystal Skull.”

Source: Ambito

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Latest Posts