3.3 C
Monday, March 27, 2023

The new Club World Cup will be played every four years but there will be an annual final

Must read

- Advertisement -

He Club World Cup will begin to be played every four years from 2025 but there will also be an annual final between the European champion and the winner of a tie between the other five confederations.

- Advertisement -

The FIFA informed the new format of the competition after the Council meeting that was held in Rwanda.

The new Club World Cup will be played every four years with the participation of 32 teams.

In principle, The teams will be 12 from Europe, six from Conmebol, four from Concacaf, four from Africa, four from Asia and one from Oceania plus another place for a club from the host country.

- Advertisement -

This year the Club World Cup It will be with the same format with the six champions from each continent plus one from Saudi Arabia, the organizing country.

Starting in 2024, there will also be an annual final at a neutral venue between the winner of the European Champions League and the team that wins a tie between the rest of the confederations.

This means that the winning clubs of the Copa Libertadores of America they will no longer have the “liberated” path to an eventual final against the European team.

“Details about timing and format will be released in due course,” the statement clarified. FIFA in the statement.

The idea of ​​”super” Club World Cup had already been announced by the owner of the FIFA, Gianni Infantinoat the end of 2022 but today it was approved by the Bureau.

Source: Ambito

- Advertisement -

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Latest article