Nothing stops him: Max Verstappen won from wire to wire in Monaco

Nothing stops him: Max Verstappen won from wire to wire in Monaco

The two-time champion and leader of Formula 1, the Dutchman Max Verstappen, crowned the Monaco Grand Prix this Sunday on a rain-soaked street track and added his fifth victory of the year in six races contested by the highest category of world motorsports.

The Red Bull team driver, after starting from pole position, came to the front of the peloton, escorted by the Spaniard Fernando Alonso (Aston Martin) and French Esteban Ocon (Alpine).

With a brilliant performance, without giving the slightest advantage to his pursuers, the Dutchman signed his second victory in Monte Carlo, with which he extended his distance in front of the World Cup.

verstappen, With 144 points, he escaped 39 from his teammate, the Mexican Sergio “Checo” Perezwho could not add in the principality and closed a forgettable weekend.

With 39 consecrations in his record, the Dutchman was two away from equaling the number of victories of the Brazilian legend Aytor Senna, who ranks fifth among the most winning drivers.

MadMax remained the leader throughout the race, which at the end was run under persistent rain and forced several drivers to change tires to improve grip and avoid accidents.

“Czech” Perez, who started last due to his accident in qualifying on Saturday, never managed to break out of the pack of laggards and finished 16th, his worst time of the year.

In contrast, the Spaniard Alonso sealed his best performance of the season with second place, representing his fifth podium in six races and confirming the great present in his first season with Aston Martin.

Or with, for his part, he gave the Alpine team their first podium of the campaign with third place ahead of the Mercedes of the seven-time British champion lewis hamilton and his compatriot George Russell.

the monegasque charles leclerc (Ferrari) was in sixth place, far from the possibility of achieving the first victory in his country. The ten scoring positions were completed by Spanish Carlos Sainz (Ferrari), British Lando Norris and the Australian Oscar Piastriboth with McLaren.

Further back they entered the Finnish Valtteri Bottas (Alfa Romeo), the Dutch Nyck De Vries (AlphaTauri), the Chinese Zhou Guanyu (Alfa Romeo), the Thai Alexander Albon (Williams), the Japanese Yuki Tsunoda (AlphaTauri), “Checo” Pérez, the German Nico Hulkenberg (Haas) and American Logan Sargeant (Williams).

The Finn Kevin Magnuessen (Haas) and the Canadian Lance Stroll (Aston Martin) did not qualify.

The next Formula 1 race will be the Spanish Grand Prix to be held on Sunday June 4 at the Montmeló circuit, Barcelona.

Source: Ambito

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Latest Posts

Institute visits Independiente on date 6

Institute visits Independiente on date 6

September 24, 2023 – 00:30 The preview of Independiente’s clash against Instituto, to be played at the Caldera del Diablo today from 3:00 p.m. (Argentine