Champions League: Group of death for BVB – Bayern with feasible opponents

Champions League: Group of death for BVB – Bayern with feasible opponents

The Bundesliga clubs have been assigned top clubs for the Champions League. Bayern and Leipzig fans don’t have the best memories. Union Berlin and especially BVB will have a hard time.

FC Bayern meets Manchester United, FC Copenhagen and Galatasaray Istanbul in the group stage of the Champions League. Borussia Dortmund faces Paris Saint-Germain, AC Milan and Newcastle United. Newcomer 1. FC Union Berlin plays in the premiere in the premier class against Real Madrid, SSC Naples and SC Braga, cup winners RB Leipzig against defending champions Manchester City, Red Star Belgrade and Young Boys Bern. That was the result of the draw of the European football union Uefa on Thursday in Monaco.

“I also came to FC Bayern to try to win the Champions League here,” said Harry Kane, a new signing from Munich who cost more than 100 million euros. In the group stage, the captain of the English national team is up against a former Premier League competitor. Many Bayern fans may still have bad memories of the bitterly lost 1999 final against Manchester United.

Champions League: BVB meets PSG for superstar Mbappé

In the Dortmund group, the French champion Paris with superstar Kylian Mbappé is the toughest chunk. The Man City draw for Leipzig does not seem a good omen: last season, RB played 1-1 in the round of 16 in their own stadium against the selection of star coach Pep Guardiola and lost 7-0 away with five goals from Erling Haaland. For Union, the premiere is against two of the toughest possible opponents: the royals from Madrid and the Italian champions Naples are waiting for the Berliners.

All 32 clubs are aiming for the final on June 1, 2024 at Wembley Stadium in London. The group stage starts on September 19th and ends before Christmas on December 13th. The two best clubs move into the round of 16, while those third in the group are relegated to the Europa League. Last season, no Bundesliga team made it past the quarter-finals, with English champions Man City triumphing in June.

All groups at a glance:

Group A
Bayern Munich
Manchester United
FC Copenhagen

Group B
FC Seville
Arsenal FC
PSV Eindhoven
RC Lens

Group C
SSC Naples
real Madrid
SC Braga
Union Berlin

Group D
Benfica Lisbon
Inter Milan
FC Salzburg
Real Sociedad San Sebastián

Group E
Feyenoord Rotterdam
Atlético Madrid
Lazio Rome
Celtic Glasgow

Group F
Paris St Germain
Borussia Dortmund
AC Milan
Newcastle United

Group G
Manchester City
RB Leipzig
Red Star Belgrade
Young Boys Bern

Group H
Barcelona FC
FC Porto
Shakhtar Donetsk
Royal Antwerp

Source: Stern

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Latest Posts