A Puma, the best player of the year in Seven

A Puma, the best player of the year in Seven

New Zealander Ardie Savea was named world player of the year 2023 at the World Rugby Awards ceremonyheld this Sunday in Paris, one day after the World Cup final, in which South Africa beat New Zealand 12-11.

The gala took place at the emblematic Opera Garnier in the French capital and the Argentine Rodrigo Isgro He was awarded as the best rugby player. seven it’s from the season.

Isgro (24 years old) was part of the Argentine squad that was second in the international Sevens circuit, only behind New Zealand, and was also with Los Pumas in the recently concluded XV rugby World Cup, in which his country finished fourth position.

Savea, 30-year-old center and third line, was competing for the award for best rugby player of 2023 with the South African second line Eben Etzebeth, Irish center Bundee Aki and French scrum-half Antoine Dupont. The latter had won the award in 2021.


Savea’s victory was for his contribution to the All Blacks in winning the Rugby Championship and becoming runners-up in the world championship.

“That doesn’t make up for it, no”Savea admitted about the defeat against South Africa in the final. “I would have much preferred to win the World Cup,” he said. “(Losing) hurts, I think it will be worse when I get on the plane, when everything is calm and I have fifteen hours to think. It is one of the worst defeats of my career,” he added.

The award was awarded by a jury of experts made up of former international players. Savea He succeeds the Irishman Josh van der Flier in the list of winners.

The best coach of the year was the Irishman Andy Farrell, while the award for the best rugby player seven of the season was the New Zealander Tyla Nathan-Wong.

All the winners of the World Rugby Awards 2023

Best player

ideal XV

Thomas Ramos (FRA) – Damian Penaud (FRA), Garry Ringrose (IRL), Bundee Aki (IRL), Will Jordan (NZL) – Richie Mo’unga (NZL), Antoine Dupont (FRA) – Charles Ollivon (FRA), Ardie Savea (NZL), Caelan Doris (IRL) – Scott Barrett (NZL), Eben Etzebeth (RSA) – Tadhg Furlong (IRL), Dan Sheehan (IRL), Cyril Baille (FRA)

best coach

Male revelation of the year

Male Try of the Year

  • Duhan van der Merwe (Scotland, against England on February 4)

Best Rugby Sevens player

Best Rugby Sevens Player

Source: Ambito

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Latest Posts