Atlanta and Miami will host the opening and final of the Copa América

Atlanta and Miami will host the opening and final of the Copa América

Conmebol announced the cities of Atlanta and Miami as the venues for the opening and final matches of the Copa América 2024, to be held in the United States from June 20 to July 14 of next year.

The first match of the Copa América 2024, set for June 20, will take place at the Mercedes-Benz Stadium in Atlanta, as confirmed by Conmebol on its official website.

The stadium, popular for its amenities and cutting-edge technology, has capacity for more than 71,000 spectators and has already hosted events such as Super Bowl LIII, the College Football Playoff National Championship in 2018, among others.

The final of the Copa América 2024 will take place on July 14 at the Hard Rock Stadium, located in Miami Gardens, Florida.

With capacity for 65,300 fans, the stadium is home to the Miami Dolphins, and was used for the Miami Open tennis tournament and the University of Miami’s Orange Blossom Classic and Orange Bowl college football games.

Hard Rock Stadium, a venue chosen for concerts and music festivals, hosted Super Bowl LIV and was selected as one of the venues for the 2026 World Cup.

“We expect stadiums filled with the passion of the entire American continent for the opening and final of an unforgettable Copa América. In Atlanta, the ball will start rolling and will not stop for a month, until the final match in Miami,” said the head of Conmebol, Alejandro Domínguez, to the official website.


“They are magnificent stadiums in wonderful cities. We appreciate the valuable collaboration of the US authorities and our friends at Concacaf in the organization of this competition. We hope for the best Copa América of all time,” he concluded.

The draw for the Copa América 2024 will be held in Miami on December 7.

Conmebol has not yet clarified when the rest of the venues for the oldest national team tournament in the world will be announced.

In addition to the ten member associations of Conmebol, six Concacaf teams will participate in the Copa América, which is being held in the United States for the second time.

The six Concacaf teams will qualify through that confederation’s Nations League, currently in the quarterfinal stage.

Source: Ambito

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Latest Posts

Asset management with conviction

Asset management with conviction

The year 2023 will mark two remarkable anniversaries: on the one hand, the 190th anniversary of Schoellerbank and, on the other hand, the 30th anniversary