Copa América: Tournaments, DirecTV and Telefe agreed with Public TV to broadcast National Team matches

Copa América: Tournaments, DirecTV and Telefe agreed with Public TV to broadcast National Team matches

Public TV reached an agreement with the companies Torneos, DIRECTV, in their capacity as holders of CONMEBOL rights America Cupand Telefe, as sublicensee of the open television rights, and will be able to broadcast the matches of the Argentine National Team in that championship.

The Copa America 2024 It will be held in the United States from June 20. 16 selected participants will participate, divided into four groups. Argentina will begin the defense of the title obtained in 2021 on Thursday, June 20, against Canada, in Group A, which also includes Peru and Chile. He will do it at the Mercedes-Benz Stadium in Atlanta, Georgia. On the other hand, the final is scheduled for July 14 at the Hard Rock Stadium in Miami.

The rest of the groups are made up of: B) Mexico, Ecuador, Venezuela and Jamaica; C) USA, Uruguay, Panama and Bolivia; and D) Brazil, Colombia, Paraguay and Costa Rica. If the world champion team reaches the quarterfinals and, depending on the position, they will have to face the first or second in Group B.

Uruguay was crowned champion in the editions of 1916, 1917, 1920, 1923, 1924, 1926, 1935, 1942, 1956, 1959, 1967, 1983, 1987, 1995 and 2011. The National Team did so in 1921, 1925, 1929 , 1937, 1941, 1945, 1946, 1947, 1955, 1957, 1959, 1991, 1993 and 2021.

It should be noted that Lionel Messi could break two records in 2024. It will be enough for him to play a single game to become the player who played the most games, a position that he shares to this day with the Chilean Sergio Livingstone (34 PJ).

On the other hand, the player from Rosario has 13 goals for the Copa América and is four goals away from the record shared by the Argentine Norberto Méndez and the Brazilian Zizinho (17). The active players who have more goals than Lionel Messi in the competition are the Chilean Eduardo Vargas and the Peruvian Paolo Guerrero (14).

Ranking of winning countries of the Copa América

  • Argentina and Uruguay (15).

  • Brazil (9).

  • Paraguay, Chile and Peru (2).

  • Colombia and Bolivia (1).

Source: Ambito

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Latest Posts