Copa América: all the champions and who dominates the title history

Copa América: all the champions and who dominates the title history
Copa América: all the champions and who dominates the title history

The 47th edition of the America Cup will be launched this Thursday when the Argentine national team opposite in the opening match to Canada. “La Scaloneta” will seek to defend the title obtained in 2021, when it defeated Brazil in the final to end a 28-year drought.

The first edition of the Copa América took place in 1916 and the winner was Uruguay, which defeated Argentina in the final.

Since the tournament began (which was initially called the South American Championship), the great dominators were Uruguay and Argentina. Even today they are the top winners, with 15 conquests each. Only in recent decades has Brazil been able to get closer, but it is still far away.

All Copa América champions

-Argentina (15): 1921, 1925, 1927, 1929, 1937, 1941, 1945, 1946, 1947, 1955, 1957, 1959(I), 1991, 1993 and 2021.

As can be seen, the Argentine National Team won an enormous number of titles in the first decades, but between 1959 and 2021 they only won three and had to wait 28 years to win the 15th.

-Uruguay (15): 1916, 1917, 1920, 1923, 1924, 1926, 1935, 1942, 1956, 1959(II), 1967, 1983, 1987, 1995, 2011.

Another power that dominated the tournament in the first decades, but that has eluded it lately.

-Brazil (9): 1919, 1922, 1949, 1989, 1997, 1999, 2004, 2007 and 2019.

The five-time world champions never gave so much importance to the Copa América, but in recent decades they were able to win several editions and get closer to the leaders.

-Paraguay (2): 1953 and 1979.

They were able to win the title on two occasions and lost in six other finals. The last of them was in 2011, when they lost against Uruguay in El Monumental.

-Peru (2): 1939 and 1975.

Peru was able to shout champion in front of its people for the first time in 1939 and in 1979 they once again lifted the long-awaited continental trophy in the golden era of their National Team.

Chile (2): 2015 and 2016.

A memory that causes great pain to the Argentines, since in both finals they defeated the “Albiceleste” in the final and on penalties.

-Colombia (1): 2001.

Perhaps the Team that most disappoints in this tournament. One of the great powers of the continent could only shout champion before its people. Then they almost always had poor performances, reaching the final only once again in 1975.

-Bolivia (1): 1963.

Like Colombia, won their only home title. At that time, the Copa América was played in a league format and finished first with five wins and only one draw.

Source: Ambito

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Latest Posts