Which countries are the top winners of the Copa América: this is the ranking

Which countries are the top winners of the Copa América: this is the ranking
Which countries are the top winners of the Copa América: this is the ranking

The 47th edition of the America Cup will be launched this Thursday, when the Argentine National Team opposite in the opening match to Canada and the group led by Lionel Scaloni will seek to defend the title obtained in 2021when he defeated Brazil in the final to end a 28-year drought.

The first edition of the America Cup was carried out in 1916 and the winner was Uruguaywho defeated the Argentina.

Since the tournament began (which was initially called South American Championship), the great dominators were Uruguay and Argentina. Even today they are the biggest winners, with 15 conquests each. Only in the last decades Brazil He could get closer, but he is still far away.

The list of the top winners of the Copa América

  • Argentina (15): 1921, 1925, 1927, 1929, 1937, 1941, 1945, 1946, 1947, 1955, 1957, 1959(I), 1991, 1993 and 2021

As can be seen, the Argentine National Team won an enormous number of titles in the first decades, but between 1959 and 2021 they only won three and had to wait 28 years to win the 15th.

  • Uruguay (15): 1916, 1917, 1920, 1923, 1924, 1926, 1935, 1942, 1956, 1959(II), 1967, 1983, 1987, 1995, 2011

Another power that dominated the tournament in the first decades, but that has eluded it lately.

  • Brazil (9): 1919, 1922, 1949, 1989, 1997, 1999, 2004, 2007 and 2019

The five-time world champions never gave so much importance to the Copa América, but in recent decades they were able to win several editions and get closer to the leaders.

  • Paraguay (2): 1953 and 1979

They were able to win the title on two occasions and lost in six other finals. The last of them was in 2011, when they lost against Uruguay in El Monumental.

Peru was able to shout champion in front of its people for the first time in 1939 and in 1979 they once again lifted the long-awaited continental trophy in the golden era of their National Team.

A memory that causes great pain to the Argentines, since in both finals they defeated the “Albiceleste” in the final and on penalties.

Perhaps the Team that most disappoints in this tournament. One of the great powers of the continent could only shout champion before its people (Argentina decided not to participate in that tournament). Then they almost always had poor performances, reaching the final only once again in 1975.

Source: Ambito

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Latest Posts