Who are the biggest winners at Wimbledon?

Who are the biggest winners at Wimbledon?
Who are the biggest winners at Wimbledon?

The tournament of Wimbledonthe third Grand Slam tennis season, got underway this week. The oldest tournament in the world, surrounded by a huge tradition, is every tennis player’s dream. And there are some who have been able to win it several times.

The biggest winner in the history of this tournament is the Swiss Roger Federerwith eight conquests. The first five came consecutively between 2003 and 2007.

The Swiss also won it in 2009, 2012 and 2017And he could have added more if he had not missed those incredible finals he lost in 2008 before the Spanish Rafael Nadal (considered the best match in the history of tennis) and in 2019 (when at 37 years old he had the Serbian on the ropes Novak Djokovic).

Throughout his career, “His Majesty” played this Grand Slam 22 times, where he finished with a record of 105 wins and 14 losses. Even his last tournament as a professional was there in 2021when he reached the quarter-finals. While it is true that he returned in 2022 to retire definitively, he did so to contest the Laver Cup which is an exhibition tournament.

The player who could reach him this year in the statistics is Djokovicwho He was champion seven times and in the last edition he was very close to achieving it, but finally fell in the final against the Spanish Carlos Alcaraz in five sets.

The Serbian won his first title at the “All England” in 2011 and repeated in 2014, 2015, 2018, 2019, 2021 and 2022.

The other tennis players who won this tournament seven times were the British William Renshaw (1881, 1882, 1883, 1884, 1885, 1886 and 1889) and the American Pete Sampras (1993, 1994, 1995, 1997, 1998, 1999 and 2000).

As regards the women’s tennisthe biggest winner is the Czech-American Martina Navratilovawith nine titles (1978, 1979, 1982, 1983, 1984, 1985, 1986, 1987 and 1990), followed Helen Willswith eight, and Dorothea Douglass, Steffi Graff and Serena Williamsall of them with seven.

Biggest winners in Wimbledon men’s history:

  • Roger Federer: 8
  • Pete Sampras and Novak Djokovic: 7
  • Bjorn Borg: 5
  • Rod Laver: 4
  • John Newcombe: 3
  • John McEnroe: 3
  • Boris Becker: 3
  • Fred Perry: 3

Source: Ambito

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Latest Posts