“Anatomy of a Case” triumphs at the 36th European Film Awards

“Anatomy of a Case” triumphs at the 36th European Film Awards
Awarded: Arthur Harari (left, screenplay), Justine Triet (center, director) and the German actress Sandra Hülser (right, leading actress)
Sandra Hueller

And the big winner of the three and a half hour evening is “Anatomy of a Case” by Justine Triet. The courtroom drama secured the premier category of Best European Film and four other trophies.

The 45-year-old filmmaker Triet was honored as best director and won the screenplay prize together with her partner Arthur Harari. As in 2016, leading actress Sandra Hülser was awarded best actress at the European Film Awards for “Toni Erdmann”. And before the gala, the award for best editing had already gone to the film that was honored with the Palme d’Or in Cannes this year. “Anatomy of a Case” was able to turn each of its nominations into an award.

Sandra Hueller

Thomas Schubert, however, was unable to convert his nomination for best actor into a statuette. The 30-year-old Viennese, who was in the running for his part of a grumpy young writer in Christian Petzold’s “Red Sky”, had to admit defeat to Hollywood star Mads Mikkelsen, who won with “Promised Land”. An Austrian directing team, however, was happy: the Total Refusal collective won the Best Short Film category with “Hardly Working”. Another red-white-red candidate had already secured his award and just had to officially pick up the trophy that evening: the musician Markus Binder was recognized as the winner in the film music category for his soundtrack to Jessica Hausner’s art house drama “Club Zero”.

The award for best documentary went to the co-production “Smoke Sauna Sisterhood” by Anna Hints. The Estonian was extremely happy to thank her for the award with a traditional song of praise. Molly Manning Walker accepted the award for the best debut film for the gender questioning “How to Have Sex”.

The youth jury ultimately chose the British drama “Georgie” (“Scrapper”). And the Austrian Thea Ehre, who was honored as best actress at the Berlinale this year, presented the award for best animated film to “Robots Dreams” by Pablo Berger. Spanish director Isabel Coixet (“Florence Green’s Bookshop”) seemed to be particularly pleased with the prize for European achievements in world cinema: “Some people think – not me! – that the prize has a certain resemblance to a sex toy. Maybe the academy should hand out batteries next year – then the honor would be really useful.”

Vanessa Redgrave honored for life’s work

The 86-year-old British actress Vanessa Redgrave was awarded the European Lifetime Achievement Award in absentia, while the 68-year-old Hungarian film director Béla Tarr was moved to accept the honorary award from the President and Board of the European Film Academy with its approximately 4,600 members. After all, it is these filmmakers who decided on the other awards of the evening.

The European Film Prize, which has been awarded since 1988, is soon facing major changes as it wants to play a larger role in the film industry’s awards season. Therefore, with the next edition, the date of the gala will be moved from December to the beginning of the year. Next year the film award will take place again in December in Lucerne, then the award will be canceled in 2025. In January 2026 it will be Berlin’s turn again.

The winners

  • Best Feature Film: “Anatomy of a Case” by Justine Triet BEST DIRECTOR: Justine Triet for “Anatomy of a Case”
  • Best main actress: Sandra Hülser for “Anatomy of a Case”
  • Best Actor: Mads Mikkelsen for “Promised Land”
  • Best Screenplay: Justine Triet and Arthur Harari for “Anatomy of a Case”
  • Best Animated Film: “Robot Dreams” by Pablo Berger
  • Best Documentary: “Smoke Sauna Sisterhood” by Anna Hints
  • Best Debut Film: How to Have Sex by Molly Manning Walker
  • Best short film: “Hardly Working” by the Total Refusal collective
  • Young Audience Awards: “Scrapper” by Charlotte Regan

Previously awarded awards

  • Life’s work: Vanessa Redgrave
  • Honorary Award: Bela Tarr
  • Best camera: Rasmus Videbæk for “The Promised Land”
  • Best Soundtrack: Markus Binder for “Club Zero”
  • Best cut: Laurent Sénéchal for “Anatomy of a Case”
  • Best costumes: Kicki Ilander for “The Promised Land”
  • Best Makeup/Hairstyles: Ana López-Puigcerver, Belén López-Puigcerver, David Martí and Montse Ribé for “The Snow Company”
  • Best sound: Johnnie Burn and Tarn Willers for “The Zone of Interest”
  • Best Production Design: Emita Frigato for “La Chimera”
  • Best Visual Effects: Félix Bergés and Laura Pedro for “The Snow Company”

The winners of the past five years


  • Best movie: “Triangle of Sadness” by Ruben Östlund
  • Best Director: Ruben Östlund (“Triangle of Sadness”)
  • Best main actress: Vicky Krieps (“Corsage”)
  • Best Actor: Zlatko Burić (“Triangle of Sadness”)


  • Best movie: “Quo Vadis, Aida?” by Jasmila Zbanić
  • Best Director: Jasmila Žbanić (“Quo Vadis, Aida?”)
  • Best main actress: Jasna Đuričić (“Quo Vadis, Aida?”)
  • Best Actor: Anthony Hopkins (“The Father”)


  • Best movie: “The Rush” by Thomas Vinterberg
  • Best Director: Thomas Vinterberg (“The Rush”)
  • Best main actress: Paula Beer (“Undine”)
  • Best Actor: Mads Mikkelsen (“The Rush”)


  • Best movie: “The Favorite” by Yorgos Lanthimos
  • Best Director: Yorgos Lanthimos (“The Favorite”)
  • Best main actress: Olivia Coleman (“The Favorite”)
  • Best Actor: Antonio Banderas (“Dolor y Gloria”)


  • Best movie: “Cold War” by Pawel Pawlikowski
  • Best Director: Pawel Pawlikowski (“Cold War”)
  • Best main actress: Joanna Kulig (“Cold War”)
  • Best Actor: Marcello Fonte (“Dogman”)

My themes

For your saved topics were

new articles found.


info By clicking on the icon you can add the keyword to your topics.

By clicking on the icon you open your “my topics” page. They have of 15 keywords saved and would have to remove keywords.

info By clicking on the icon you can remove the keyword from your topics.

Add the topic to your topics.

Source: Nachrichten

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Latest Posts

Comeback of a masterful carpool

Comeback of a masterful carpool

Zeltner (left), Baumschlager Image: Harald Illmer An extremely successful carpool is reporting back to the second state rally championship race of this season on March